V Narayanasamy sworn in as Puducherry CM

V Narayansamy sworn in as Puducherry Chief Minister.

Congress Legislature Party leader V Narayanasamy today sworn in as Chief Minister of the Union Territory of Puducherry.

Lt. Governor Kiran Bedi administered the oath of office and secrecy at a function held at the historic Gandhi Thidal in Beach Road.

Congress legislators A Namassivayam, Shah Jahan, M Kandasamy, R Kamalkannan and Malladi Krishna Rao were sworn in as ministers.

Narayanasamy represented Puducherry in Rajya Sabha for three terms. He was elected to Lok Sabha in 2009 and served as Minister of State in Prime Minister’s Office in UPA II.

Narayanasamy is not a member of the house hence need to face polls in 6 months.

While Kamalakannan represents the outlying enclave of Karaikal, Malladi Krishna Rao is from Yanam. Of the four regions of he Union Territory, Mahe alone do not have representation in the Council of Ministers.

Congress fought the election in alliance with DMK. DMK which has 2 members in the Assembly will be supporting the Government from outside.

Senior Congress leader Mukul Wasnik, DMK Treasurer MK Stalin, Tamil Nadu PCC President EVKS Elangovan were among the dignitaries who attended the function.

Follow Meri Sarkar

Be the first to comment on "V Narayanasamy sworn in as Puducherry CM"

You can post your comments on the story here.

%d bloggers like this: