BJP sweeps Assam, Mamata, Jayalalitha return as CMs, Left wins Kerala

Union Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal is set to become Chief Minister of Assam.

In a major set back to the grand old party – Congress, BJP with its ally was able to secure two third majority in northeastern state Assam in a bitterly fought election. While Congress also lost Kerala to Left Front, Mamata Banerjee and J Jayalalitha created history by returning has Chief Ministers of West Bengal and Tamil Nadu respectively.

Tarun Gogogi, three times chief minister led the party to a rout as it could only win less than 25 seats.

BJP’s CM candidate Sarbananda Sonowal said he had two challenges before him. First to seal India-Bangladesh border to stop illegal infiltration and complete the work of National Citizen’s Register in a time bound manner.

Sonowal said he would protect the interest of bonafide citizens be it Hindu, Muslim, Christinas or Sikkhs or of any ethnicity.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated BJP state unit and Sarbananda Sonowal who led the party to its first ever victory in the state.

In the neighbouring West Bengal Mamata Banerjee decimated the unofficial alliance of Congress and Left parties. Mamata also comfortably won the two third majority.

In remote South, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalitha created a history be winning the second consecutive term first time since 1980s.

She did not forge alliance with any party including BJP and single handedly the party to a complete victory over DMK-Congress alliance.

In neighbouring Kerala, Congress suffered another set back as Congress led UDF was routed by a resurgent LDF.

In a consolation of sort, BJP was able to open its account in Kerala by winning Nemom seat.

The victory is seen as a big set back for Congress as it lost two crucial states – Kerala and Assam and failed to grab West Bengal and Tamil Nadu despite alliances with regional partners.

Party Vice President Rahul Gandhi congratulated the winning parties and reiterated its resolve to work harder to win over people’s confidence.

The only consolation for Congress was to win Puducherry in alliance with DMK.

Follow Meri Sarkar

Be the first to comment on "BJP sweeps Assam, Mamata, Jayalalitha return as CMs, Left wins Kerala"

You can post your comments on the story here.

%d bloggers like this: